Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW !

Read and comment on the latest community news and site updates.
Règles du forum

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par Unas » Lun Mai 18, 2015 10:12 am

Well, I let you judge of what you consider a big development or not :-P

The idea behind this sentence is : don't assume that your code will systematically be accepted. You should probably avoid spending a lot of time on something if I don't even agree on the principle ;-)

Now, hotkeys I have nothing against, on the contrary that's the kind of stuff I'd like to see added. But it can be tricky to integrate cleanly in the code ^^
You're welcome to give it a try ;-)
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8770
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par mercurialSK » Lun Mai 18, 2015 10:26 am

Well...I have this proof of concept?
I kind of tried to match your code quality...and I'm thinking just hotkeys for the most commonly used stuff or something (haven't worked anything out yet, just wanted to see if I could do it). I'm kinda unsure so feedback would be nice XD

Edit: Actually this feels a bit off topic should this stuff be PM'd or maybe some new thing for general questions made instead?
Image

Backlog: v6 Perceive generator, Apollo, everything else (My thread)
Someday, on AAO™: Chris Tenson: Ace Attorney & A Turnabout Called Justice (pt 2)
Avatar de l’utilisateur
mercurialSK
 
Message(s) : 293
Inscription : Sam Jan 11, 2014 9:26 am
Localisation : foolishly fooling like a foolish fool
Langues parlées: English

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par Gamer2002 » Lun Mai 18, 2015 11:20 am

Finally we can do something about v6 ;)

Unas, I propose to create subforum dedicated to AAO development ;D
Gamer2002
 
Message(s) : 468
Inscription : Jeu Jan 22, 2009 10:51 pm

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par kwando1313 » Lun Mai 18, 2015 4:31 pm

That was for the mocked install.




Heshy made this sig/Opannah art~ <3 <3 Avatar made by the wonderful StaticMegaByte~

Image

Image
Natsuki best senpai

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


"The Knight of the Iron Hammer, Vita, and the Steel Count, Graf Eisen. There's nothing in this world we can't destroy."
Avatar de l’utilisateur
kwando1313
 
Message(s) : 7674
Inscription : Mar Juil 22, 2008 6:33 pm
Localisation : Uminari City
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English, Français (un peu), Ancient Belkan

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par Unas » Lun Mai 18, 2015 8:59 pm

Well kwando, for the moment I don't see any problem with that on my end. :-/

I'm not sure how it can happen actually. Your message basically complains that variable $user is empty, but the $user object is instatiated explicitly in my common.php mock.
Unless the mock itself is not called, this is weird.

What page are you trying to access when you get this error ? The index page ?
Did you copy the /mocked_install/config.php to /trunk/config.php directly ? No other edit ?

If the issue persists, can you check the details of your php installation ?
You can create a PHP page containing just
Code : Tout sélectionner
<?php phpinfo(); ?>

And then navigate to it.

I'd be interested in knowing :
- Your PHP version (mine says "PHP Version 5.3.10-1ubuntu3.18" ; 5.3.10 is the relevant part here)
- Whether you have an "sqlite3" section in this page (you need to have one for the mocked db to work)


mercurialSK a écrit :Well...I have this proof of concept?
I kind of tried to match your code quality...and I'm thinking just hotkeys for the most commonly used stuff or something (haven't worked anything out yet, just wanted to see if I could do it). I'm kinda unsure so feedback would be nice XD

Edit: Actually this feels a bit off topic should this stuff be PM'd or maybe some new thing for general questions made instead?


Certainly not PMs ! xD
I guess I'll have to create (or not ! :side: ) a new forum section about development.

Regarding your POC, it's pretty good, it's a clever way of adding this feature as a drop-in addon to the player without affecting the rest of the code too much.
I see a few problems with this approach though :
  • There is one player action that requests that the user type in some text (that is then stored in a variable). If he types an s or a c, these hotkeys will be triggered as well. Here it wouldn't be dramatic thanks to your visibility check (the skip button hotkey would not be triggered because it's hidden at this point, and switching the CE does not have a big impact), but still, that's not good.
  • If you want to create hotkeys for opening a piece of evidence, what will you do ? The evidence ID is not displayed on screen so you can't assign "hotkey 1 to block with evidence id 1", etc. You would have to think in a positional way (hotkey 1 to first evidence displayed, etc). It's more dynamic than just a fixed ID. :)
  • You will absolutely not be able to extend this approach to hotkeys in the editor, if we decide do.
    In the editor, buttons do not have a unique ID to map, since there are hundreds of identical buttons (as many as you have frames, etc.)

The last point may be ignored : due to the different nature of the player and editor, it's not unreasonable to have two completely different systems (the editor would need some kind of keyboard navigation, and therefore much more impact on the editor code itself).
However, the first point is blocking : the hotkey system has to be able to know if hotkeys are safe to use at this point or not.
One way of fixing the issue could be to check the origin of the keydown event : if it originates from a form element or something of the kind, it shouldn't be interpreted as a hotkey...

Those are just my thoughts though, if you have other ideas... :wink:
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8770
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par kwando1313 » Lun Mai 18, 2015 9:35 pm

Yeah, it was the index page. And I did copy the config over. Was quite confused myself why that was happening...

EDIT: Now that I'm back on my computer, I have php 5.5.8. And I do have a sqlite3 section.




Heshy made this sig/Opannah art~ <3 <3 Avatar made by the wonderful StaticMegaByte~

Image

Image
Natsuki best senpai

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


"The Knight of the Iron Hammer, Vita, and the Steel Count, Graf Eisen. There's nothing in this world we can't destroy."
Avatar de l’utilisateur
kwando1313
 
Message(s) : 7674
Inscription : Mar Juil 22, 2008 6:33 pm
Localisation : Uminari City
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English, Français (un peu), Ancient Belkan

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par Unas » Mar Mai 19, 2015 12:04 am

Ah, you have a much more recent php version than me. IIRC, PHP 5.4 was a huge update, I wonder if they changed something about global variables handling in there. I'll have to check that, this could be the explanation.
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8770
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par kwando1313 » Mar Mai 19, 2015 12:07 am

Ah, ok. I was wondering if that might have been the issue...

Should I downgrade my php for now? Or would it be better to wait for you to make an update first?




Heshy made this sig/Opannah art~ <3 <3 Avatar made by the wonderful StaticMegaByte~

Image

Image
Natsuki best senpai

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


"The Knight of the Iron Hammer, Vita, and the Steel Count, Graf Eisen. There's nothing in this world we can't destroy."
Avatar de l’utilisateur
kwando1313
 
Message(s) : 7674
Inscription : Mar Juil 22, 2008 6:33 pm
Localisation : Uminari City
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English, Français (un peu), Ancient Belkan

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par Unas » Mar Mai 19, 2015 12:21 am

Actually, there is something you could try.

After reading up a little bit, I think there might be a mistake in the code of my mock, but which I did't notice because of a php bug in my version ^^

In / mocked_install / phpbb_files / common.php
You should add the keyword "global" before all of my global variable assignments.

Code : Tout sélectionner
global $user = new user();
...
global $auth = new auth();
...
global $db = new db(__DIR__ . '/db.sqlite');


Tell me if this fixes it :-)
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8770
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par kwando1313 » Mar Mai 19, 2015 12:33 am

Doing that gives me a new error.

Code : Tout sélectionner
 Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '=', expecting ',' or ';' in C:\Program Files (x86)\EasyPHP-DevServer-14.1VC11\data\localweb\aao-game-creation-engine\mocked_install\phpbb_files\common.php on line 45




Heshy made this sig/Opannah art~ <3 <3 Avatar made by the wonderful StaticMegaByte~

Image

Image
Natsuki best senpai

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


"The Knight of the Iron Hammer, Vita, and the Steel Count, Graf Eisen. There's nothing in this world we can't destroy."
Avatar de l’utilisateur
kwando1313
 
Message(s) : 7674
Inscription : Mar Juil 22, 2008 6:33 pm
Localisation : Uminari City
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English, Français (un peu), Ancient Belkan

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par Unas » Mar Mai 19, 2015 12:47 am

My mistake, I work in Java every day so I forgot that in PHP you couldn't declare and assign in the same statement... ^^

Code : Tout sélectionner
global $user;
$user = new user();
...
global $auth;
$auth = new auth();
...
global $db;
$db = new db(__DIR__ . '/db.sqlite');
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8770
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par kwando1313 » Mar Mai 19, 2015 1:03 am

No worries. I use Python for work so all this php stuff is weird for me. xP

Unfortunately, same error shows up, though.

Code : Tout sélectionner
<b>Notice</b>:  Trying to get property of non-object in <b>C:\Program Files (x86)\EasyPHP-DevServer-14.1VC11\data\localweb\aao-game-creation-engine\trunk\includes\UserDataHandler.class.php</b> on line <b>47</b><br />




Heshy made this sig/Opannah art~ <3 <3 Avatar made by the wonderful StaticMegaByte~

Image

Image
Natsuki best senpai

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


"The Knight of the Iron Hammer, Vita, and the Steel Count, Graf Eisen. There's nothing in this world we can't destroy."
Avatar de l’utilisateur
kwando1313
 
Message(s) : 7674
Inscription : Mar Juil 22, 2008 6:33 pm
Localisation : Uminari City
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English, Français (un peu), Ancient Belkan

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par Unas » Mar Mai 19, 2015 1:08 am

So, it's not so simple as I thought...
Well, I'll see later then, it's high time I went to sleep now.

In the mean time, if you want to keep trying out stuff, you can try the full integrated install : in theory, phpBB is thoroughly tested to work in most php environments, so even if there is a mistake in the way I did the mock, I guess this mistake isn't present in the real deal. It doesn't take that long, and I believe easyphp enables you to setup a mysql database easily :-)
ImageImageImage
If knowledge can create problems, it is not through ignorance that we can solve them.
Si le savoir peut créer des problèmes, ce n'est pas l'ignorance qui les résoudra. ( Isaac Asimov )
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Unas
Admin / Site programmer
 
Message(s) : 8770
Inscription : Mar Juil 10, 2007 4:43 pm
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: Français, English, Español

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par kwando1313 » Mar Mai 19, 2015 1:13 am

Yeah, I might go do that...

I should be able to set up a full install on an easyphp server, right?

EDIT: Actually... You say to go through the installation process, but... What exactly should we be writing for the server info, anyways?




Heshy made this sig/Opannah art~ <3 <3 Avatar made by the wonderful StaticMegaByte~

Image

Image
Natsuki best senpai

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


"The Knight of the Iron Hammer, Vita, and the Steel Count, Graf Eisen. There's nothing in this world we can't destroy."
Avatar de l’utilisateur
kwando1313
 
Message(s) : 7674
Inscription : Mar Juil 22, 2008 6:33 pm
Localisation : Uminari City
Genre: Masculin
Langues parlées: English, Français (un peu), Ancient Belkan

Re: Development news : AAO goes open-source NOW ! 

Message par mercurialSK » Mar Mai 19, 2015 3:24 am

A forum section would be neat.

Actually I didn't think of any of those points, just wanted to get into the code XD And forgot the player did have a form. That wouldn't be hard to check for. Thanks for the feedback :)

About hotkeying evidence...that wasn't what I had in mind anywhere but it would be neat though hm.
Image

Backlog: v6 Perceive generator, Apollo, everything else (My thread)
Someday, on AAO™: Chris Tenson: Ace Attorney & A Turnabout Called Justice (pt 2)
Avatar de l’utilisateur
mercurialSK
 
Message(s) : 293
Inscription : Sam Jan 11, 2014 9:26 am
Localisation : foolishly fooling like a foolish fool
Langues parlées: English

PrécédentSuivant

Retour vers News and Announcements

Qui est en ligne ?

Utilisateur(s) parcourant ce forum : Aucun utilisateur inscrit et 1 invité